Being Productive…

I’ve had a mixed productivity record over the last, well, several months if I’m being honest. I’ve had trouble getting up in the mornings, and then I have tended just do aimless personal interest projects like reading message boards or thinking of things to do on this blog.

This is easily one of the two biggest changes I need to make in my life. (The other is paying off debts and being more financially sound in my living.) In my view, there’s two components of this problem for me. First, motivation and second, energy.

I have to have the motivation to do great things and do them at full pace and in a quality manner. The bigger problem for me is the energy piece. I can’t seem to find the energy to get up in the morning lately. Unfortunately, I think this is just a matter of deciding to get up and get after it. On a side note, I have zero difficulty staying awake until 2 am if I want to.

As a result of these “discoveries”, I find articles on the motivation and productivity tips of successful individuals to be interesting.

Inc.com is a wealth of information for this kind of this. This article on 10 leaders and the ways they stay productive provides some interesting insights. Although each person will find some more interesting than the others, the most compelling to me were:

– Writing every day – bloggers can sympathize with this. Two thoughts here. 1 – I should do this both in terms of the blog and in terms of my desire to write a book someday. The book writing will ultimately mean compiling lots of writing that has already been done, rather than sitting down and beginning to write it from the start. 2- This tips doesn’t really mean that writing every day will make you more productive. It means that diligently performing the tasks that you want to excel at every day will yield positive results, whether that be guitar playing or dancing or whatever.

– The various exercise/train for an Iron Man etc – The real deal here is, as I wrote in an email to a friend leaning to “push yourself”. I read something recently talking about the phrase “just do it”, and why Nike hit a brilliant nerve by trademarking that as their slogan. I think its a great slogan, but I think they missed the ball by leaving out a key word. A better phrase (for me at least) would probably be “just do it right now”. I need to push myself and know what my limits are. Its the only way I am going to discover how fast I can run, how well I can do at computer programming, how high I will rise the corporate ranks at my job, etc. Push. And when you get tired, push harder.

More tips on productivity can be found here: Same site, different article.

Lastly, and again from Inc.com, is a list of tips on motivating yourself. I am finding every single one of these to be good, and I am going to be paying close attention to this list in the next few months.

No tips that I have found yet on upping my morning energy. If someone happens to read this and knows a source, please post it in the comments.

About StartingFromThirty

This blog is about making myself better. There's a lot of things I am good at, and a thousand times more things than that that I need to fix. It's probably not as bad as I often feel like it is, but nonetheless, things need to change. So here I am, starting a blog with the goal of chronicling my quest to get things on the path they need to be on. The goal is to improve my life however I have to. That might be best done in small increments, an hour a day or one month at a time. Or maybe its just slapping yourself in the face and deciding to change. I guess we will find out. And perhaps someone who finds themselves in my situation can be motivated by this. Even better, hopefully I can learn from other people hoping to reshape their lives. So please, leave a comment or a suggestion on a skill to learn or a way to change things for the better.
This entry was posted in Productivity, Resolutions, Self Improvement and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

