Other People’s Resolutions

I’ve been thinking a lot over the last week plus about my New Year’s Resolutions, as have many people. No surprise that a number of articles about achieving your goals and resolutions have cropped up in the last few days. Some of them have provided excellent suggestions for things to improve on in the next year, or life in general really.

My favorite list so far is from Evan, who happened to stumble onto my blog and follow me – for which I am thankful. Evan’s list is lengthy, but most importantly it contains very specific goals. Among the highlights of Evan’s Better Man Project Bucket List are:

– 10K in the bank (I wish I could be at that level right now…I won’t get to put that on my list until this time next year)
– Read 52 books (Going for one a week?)
– Being diligent about certain things – like stretching
– Get paid to write freelance

and others. Many are personal goals that won’t apply to the rest of us, like “be able to dunk”, but I think there’s a lot of value in having goals that are easily obtainable by simply spending an afternoon to accomplish going skydiving, or what have you. They are enjoyable steps along the way to be a more well-rounded, fascinating, and active – get stuff done – kind of guy. I’m going to need to add a few of these into my list.

This article from Takepart.com provides 30 ideas for things to do this month to give back, make your community better, or make yourself better. Great suggestions like “volunteer locally on the Martin Luther King Jr. Day of service” are excellent ideas, though I wish that several of the suggestions weren’t either political (tell your lawmaker to protect the Arctic Wildlife Refuge” or simple “thank your mentor today”. The political ones can too easily be ignored by people who don’t follow a particular ideology, and the simple ones aren’t things that create lasting behaviors or self improvement, only temporary feelings of satisfaction. However, suggestions like “donate a suit to dress for success” are outstanding. I think I’ll do that with one of my suits that I never wear.

20 New Year’s Resolutions for 20 Somethings has some really good advice for behaviors to change this year. Some of them read like a middle aged person who walks around muttering “damned kids!” all day long, but others, like “Cut one person out of your life who you truly do not like and add one person who you truly do. Note: not on Facebook, on Earth.”, are things that we can do to more deeply evaluate our lifestyles, relationships, and general life direction.

Have you read anything that you think has a great list of Resolutions or advice on achieving your goals? If you have, share it in the comments.

About StartingFromThirty

This blog is about making myself better. There's a lot of things I am good at, and a thousand times more things than that that I need to fix. It's probably not as bad as I often feel like it is, but nonetheless, things need to change. So here I am, starting a blog with the goal of chronicling my quest to get things on the path they need to be on. The goal is to improve my life however I have to. That might be best done in small increments, an hour a day or one month at a time. Or maybe its just slapping yourself in the face and deciding to change. I guess we will find out. And perhaps someone who finds themselves in my situation can be motivated by this. Even better, hopefully I can learn from other people hoping to reshape their lives. So please, leave a comment or a suggestion on a skill to learn or a way to change things for the better.
This entry was posted in New Challenges, Personal Change, Resolutions, Self Improvement and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

